Chou Her, Prose Editor

chou

As my time spent in Mush went from the first week to half a semester, I have witnessed many new and great things about our little organization. If I can, I will say that all of us are passionate about literature and art. I do know that everyone came to Mush for different reasons, pursuit, and goals. For me, coming to Mush was an opportunity to expand my knowledge of what a literary magazine is and how it works. Each individual had the opportunity to choose a role to partake in and I’m here to tell you about mine.

As an artist, specifically manga and animation, I came to Mush hoping to get something out of the experience. I am involved in my own group outside of my academics that printed a little manga very much like Mush magazine, except the print I did with my group is a manga style print. Manga is of Japanese culture style and the equivalent of comics. Through Mush what I wanted to learn was what a literary magazine feels like and how it works.

Entering Mush at the beginning, I found out there were roles. Little did I expect that there were three roles that conflicted my choice in what I wanted to do. They were Poetry, Prose, and Art editor. I like poetry. It was a writing form that I enjoy and makes me free to express myself. I thought it would be great to be the poetry editor because I had interest. However, the role did not fall to me after a vote of majority; my vote included. Sometimes you may not get what you want, but you can try for something else of challenge. Art was familiar to me, but I didn’t fight for the role. I believe anyone could be a great art editor regardless of familiarity or not.

Thus I got the role of Prose editor. I was a bit scared because I knew nothing of what a prose editor does. Eventually I got the hang of the job, which consists of line editing and reviewing prose stories such as short fiction, flash fiction, plays, etc. The job was no easy task, same goes for all the roles in Mush, and it was definitely an experience worth having. I hope to continue to do my role well and contribute to Mush until we have a final print in everyone’s hands!

Here are links to our Facebook page and to our Deviant Art page if you guys want to check it out!
http://facebook.com/kevxavartists
http://http://kevxav.deviantart.com/

Leave a comment