Kwan Yin Chan

Hi, I am KY Chan. As an international student from Hong Kong, I am intrigued by the beauty of English, especially in poetry, so I am pursuing an English major. In my leisure time, I like to play the piano, practice Chinese martial arts, and learn about meditation.  I have participated in a series of debating tournaments when I was in high school. The debating topics are always controversial, which often broaden my horizon with multiple perspectives. Served in the captain position of the team is a great chance to know the importance of time-management and working under pressure.   I have also frequently taken part in public speaking competitions, since they are precious opportunities to speak in front of people. With practice, I have built self-confidence and become competent in delivery in a logical and concise manner.   In addition, I maintain time for my hobbies, with reading as my particularly fruitful one. Being inquisitive, I love reading novels, plays and poems. French play “Les Justes”, Indian poet “Rabindranath Tagore” and Chinese novel “the Romance of the Three Kingdoms” are some of my favorites.   As an editor in MUSH magazine, I hope to explore and appreciate more flowery and poetic articles as well as art work from the UWMC students.

my picture

Leave a Reply

