Words from the Web Editor of MUSH 2014

Dragonflies by Shawn Igers

Let us staple
the wings of dragonflies
to the backs of our eyes
and drift away
on the early morning
dregs of day
To a place far beyond
this sullied pond
of here, now and this
to a flower-topped perch
of dragonfly bliss

Hello fellow readers of MUSH’s web blog,

I am Ashley, the web editor, for this year’s MUSH edition. I would like to introduce myself to the audience and let you know a little about me. I’m new to this literary magazine stuff and I’m willing to learn more about the behind the scenes and also what makes a outstanding literary magazine whether it would be MUSH or others. The start of this entry, I had place one of the many submissions selected from last year’s MUSH and figured those who haven’t seen or read the magazine will like a little short from what would be provided from our magazine this year. Also, I will be starting each posting with a new poem or short story from the previous editions.

My goal for this blog is not only to make it known to others that this exists but also to let them see what works we are applying into this year’s edition. I don’t want the student body to feel that we don’t want their involvement whatsoever when it comes to this magazine, since after all, our magazine is being published with their support from their tuition. I hope that my entries will keep you entertained and willing to come back for more. Through this Spring semester of 2014, I’ll be updating this blog and also the other editors will give their entries on what’s on their minds and so forth.

Although, many of you may think that we will just pick and choose authors/artists that we, the editors, know, that is incorrect. We will be choosing without bias and with open minds, picking those we think is the best and those that qualify for the position into the MUSH 2014 magazine. I don’t want those that are afraid to submit to feel intimidated because honestly, you will never know what our opinion will be like for your work. Just submit and let fate take care of the rest. ​

Leave a comment